For the 18th time in its 53-year history of broadcasting the National Football League, the CBS Television Network broadcasts the Super Bowl.  


This year marks the 10th time New Orleans hosts the Super Bowl and fifth time CBS Sports broadcasts the game from the Crescent City.  CBS Sports’ Jim Nantz and Phil Simms call the action, marking the third time this duo calls the Super Bowl together.  Nantz also hosted the Network’s Super Bowl pre-game show, THE SUPER BOWL TODAY, in 2001 and 2004.  Simms will provide analysis for his seventh Super Bowl, the fifth for CBS Sports.  NFL ON CBS analysts Steve Tasker and Solomon Wilcots serve as sideline reporters.


           On January 11, 1970, CBS Sports broadcast Super Bowl IV from Tulane Stadium as the AFL squared the Super Bowl at two games apiece with the NFL.  Kansas City quarterback Len Dawson led the Chiefs past the Minnesota Vikings, 23-7, in a near flawless performance completing 12-of-17 passes as the game’s Most Valuable Player.  Jack Buck handled the play-by-play duties, while Pat Summerall and Frank Gifford were the analysts for CBS Sports.


CBS Sports also broadcast Super Bowl VI from Tulane Stadium in New Orleans on January 16, 1972.  The Dallas Cowboys’ “Doomsday Defense” held the Miami Dolphins to just 185 yards and a field goal as the Cowboys won 24-3.  It was the first time in Super Bowl history that a team did not permit a touchdown.  Dallas quarterback Roger Staubach was the game’s Most Valuable Player.  Ray Scott and Pat Summerall called the action for CBS Sports.


On January 15, 1978, CBS Sports broadcast Super Bowl XII from the Louisiana Superdome as the Dallas Cowboys once again won in New Orleans by beating the Denver Broncos, 27-10.  Dallas’s Harvey Martin and Randy White led their team’s defense, which recovered four fumbles and intercepted four passes, as the game’s Co-Most Valuable Players.  Pat Summerall and Tom Brookshier called the game for CBS Sports.


And on January 28, 1990, CBS Sports broadcast Super Bowl XXIV with Pat Summerall and John Madden calling the action.  The San Francisco 49ers won their fourth Super Bowl championship with a 55-10 win over Denver.  The 49ers’ 55 points broke the previous Super Bowl scoring mark of 46 points by Chicago in Super Bowl XX, as Joe Montana completed 22-of-29 passes for 297 yards and five touchdowns in being named the game’s Most Valuable Player for a record third time.


Quick Facts -- Super Bowl IV, Super Bowl VI, Super XII and Super Bowl XXIV







National Anthem: Al Hirt


Halftime show:  “Mardi Gras” with Carol Channing


Cost of ticket:  $15.00


Attendance:   80,562  


Cost of 30-second commercial:   $78,000  






National Anthem:  U.S. Air Force Academy Chorale


Halftime show:  “Salute to Louis Armstrong” with Ella Fitzgerald, Carol Channing, Al Hirt & U.S. Marine Corps Drill Team

Cost of ticket:   $15.00


Attendance:  81,023


Cost of 30-second commercial:  $86,000






National Anthem: Phyllis Kelly (Northeast Louisiana State University)


Halftime show: “From Paris to the Paris of America” with Tyler Apache Belles, Pete Fountain and Al Hirt


Cost of ticket:  $30.00


Attendance:  75,583


Cost of 30-second commercial:  $162,000





National Anthem: Aaron Neville


Halftime show: “Salute to New Orleans” and 40th Anniversary of Peanuts characters; Pete Fountain, Doug Kershaw, Irma Thomas


Cost of ticket:  $125.00


Attendance:  72,919


Cost of 30-second commercial:  $700,000