New Episodes Every Tuesday At 9:00 p.m.ET/PT Beginning Sept. 8


NEW YORK (Aug. 25, 2015)—Sports Emmy® Award-winning studio show “INSIDE THE NFL” returns to SHOWTIME for an eighth consecutive season on Tuesday, Sept. 8 at 9:00 p.m. ET/PT to kick off its 37th season on the air.


“INSIDE THE NFL” covers every game, every week, with trademark highlights from NFL Films, special in-depth features and spirited debate on the hottest topics in the NFL.  The show is produced by CBS Sports and NFL Films and airs every Tuesday during the NFL season through Feb. 9, 2016.  NFL Network will re-air the show on Wednesdays at 9:00 p.m. ET/PT throughout the season.


This season’s cast features longtime “INSIDE THE NFL” on SHOWTIME analyst and 15-year NFL veteran Phil Simms, NFL veteran quarterback Boomer Esiason, the return of N.Y. Jets’ wide receiver Brandon Marshall and new host Adam Schein.  Plus, Hall of Fame receiver and NFL Network analyst Michael Irvin will occasionally join the cast as guest analyst.


“INSIDE THE NFL continues to evolve and, even after 35-plus years on the air, it remains one of the most ground-breaking shows on television,” said Stephen Espinoza, Executive Vice President & General Manager, SHOWTIME Sports®.  “Our unique blend of talent, incisive analysis, and one-of-a-kind highlights from NFL Films give INSIDE THE NFL an edge that viewers simply cannot get with any other NFL news program.”


As an All-Pro quarterback and Super Bowl XXI MVP, Simms led the N.Y. Giants to two Super Bowl titles.  He completed 22-of-25 passes in Super Bowl XXI as the Giants defeated the Denver Broncos, 39-20, to win their first Super Bowl.  He was the Giants' first selection in the 1979 NFL Draft, was selected for the 1985 and 1993 Pro Bowls and was named 1985 Pro Bowl MVP.  Simms joined the CBS family in January 1998 as lead analyst for the CBS Television Network's coverage of the NFL.  This is his eighth season on “INSIDE THE NFL” on SHOWTIME and his second year on “THURSDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL” on CBS Sports and NFL Network.


Esiason, who quarterbacked the Cincinnati Bengals, N.Y. Jets, and Arizona Cardinals during a 14-year NFL career, was a four-time Pro Bowler and NFL MVP in 1988.  After working as ABC's NFL “MONDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL” commentator for two years, he joined CBS Sports in February 2002 as a studio analyst for “THE NFL TODAY.”  In addition to serving as a second-year analyst for “INSIDE THE NFL,” Esiason also co-hosts WFAN’s top-rated “Boomer and Carton” morning show, which is simulcast on CBS Sports Network.


Marshall, a N.Y. Jets wide receiver and five-time Pro Bowler, joins the “INSIDE THE NFL” cast for the second consecutive year.  He debuted on INSIDE THE NFL last year, trading his Chicago Bears uniform and cleats once a week for a suit and a microphone, as he became the first active NFL player to serve as an analyst in the show’s 37-year history.


New “INSIDE THE NFL” host, Schein, is widely known in the sports community for his energetic and forthright commentary.  He currently hosts three shows on CBS Sports Network including the newly launched one-hour live weekday sports show “TIME TO SCHEIN,” he gets fans ready every Sunday on “THAT OTHER PREGAME SHOW” (TOPS) and calls the signals with a group of former NFL quarterbacks every Monday on “NFL MONDAY QB.”  Schein is also known for his daily sports-talk radio show on Sirius XM’s Mad Dog Radio, “Schein on Sports,” and his previous work on SNY’s “Loudmouths” and FOX Sports radio’s “Game Time React with Adam Schein.”


In just eight seasons on SHOWTIME, “INSIDE THE NFL” has won four Sports Emmy Awards, including two for Outstanding Studio Show.  Past cast members of the storied program dating back to 1977 have included Dan Marino, Chuck Bednarik, James Brown, Nick Buoniconti, Cris Carter, Cris Collinsworth, Bob Costas, Len Dawson, Jerry Glanville, Jimmy Johnson, Peter King and Warren Sapp.


“INSIDE THE NFL,” the longest-running show on cable television, is produced by CBS Sports and NFL Films.  The executive producers are Sean McManus, Chairman, CBS Sports and Ross Ketover and Pat Kelleher of NFL Films.  Pete Radovich Jr., the Emmy Award-winning Creative Director for CBS Sports, serves as coordinating producer.


# # #


About Showtime Networks Inc.

Showtime Networks Inc. (SNI), a wholly-owned subsidiary of CBS Corporation, owns and operates the premium television networks SHOWTIME®, THE MOVIE CHANNEL and FLIX®, as well as the multiplex channels SHOWTIME 2, SHOWTIME® SHOWCASE, SHOWTIME EXTREME®, SHOWTIME BEYOND®, SHOWTIME NEXT®, SHOWTIME WOMEN®, SHOWTIME FAMILY ZONE® and THE MOVIE CHANNEL XTRA. SNI also offers SHOWTIME HD, THE MOVIE CHANNEL HD, SHOWTIME ON DEMAND®, FLIX ON DEMAND® and THE MOVIE CHANNEL ON DEMAND, and the network's authentication service SHOWTIME ANYTIME®. SNI also manages Smithsonian Networks, a joint venture between SNI and the Smithsonian Institution, which offers Smithsonian Channel. All SNI feeds provide enhanced sound using Dolby Digital 5.1. SNI markets and distributes sports and entertainment events for exhibition to subscribers on a pay-per-view basis through SHOWTIME PPV®.




Chris DeBlasio            (212) 708-1633 

Flo Jocou                    (212) 708-7319 


CBS Sports

Jen Sabatelle              (212) 975-4120 

Jerry Caraccioli          (212) 975-7466